A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) ★★★★★

I could not put this book down. I fell so in love with this book I’ve thought of not much else for 2 days. I was so worried that the book would end with a cliffhanger and thank god it hadn’t or else I would probably be losing my mind right about now. The next book comes out on May 3rd and I’m so excited to continue reading about Feyre and the entire faerie world.

Goodreads Summary:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

Review: 

As previously stated, I fricken loved this book. It was everything I wanted in a book and more. I wasn’t exactly sure what I was getting myself into as I haven’t read anything by Sarah J. Maas before, even though the Throne of Glass series is on my tbr list.

I don’t even know where to start, I could honestly just sit here and write praise for this book but that’d get kind of repetitive so I won’t. I will say that, even though I’m incredibly excited for the next book, I don’t think it would have been terrible to find out that there would be no sequel. This book ended well enough on its own that I don’t think the sequel is as required as it would be had it ended with a cliffhanger. I will nonetheless read A Court of Mist and Fury and I probably will end up loving it. Even though I think a second book is unnecessary I’m still excited to continue reading the story because of how amazing the first book was.

I personally really liked Feyre throughout the entire book. She didn’t just instantaneously start feeling safe around her captors and she didn’t just fall directly in love with him (not naming names for that would spoil parts of the book). Feyre doesn’t just forget about her family, no matter how easy that would have been for her, and I liked that about her…it made her seem more like a real person than a fictional character. I loved how she spent so much of her time painting, not that there was much else to do because it felt like we were getting to see her in her natural element. Without Tamlin or Lucien around we heard her uninterrupted thoughts, the ones she would only let herself think when she was alone. I really liked that element of the book.

Tamlin and Lucien are spiritually like brothers to each other. They give each other a hard time but they are always looking out for one another. I loved the fact that even though a whole bunch of terrible things went wrong in their lives, they stayed true to one another. They are both such great characters and I can’t wait to read more about them in next two books.

There are spoilers in the next paragraph.

Now the romance/sexual nature of this book have it rated a 4 out of 5 (stated on common sense media.org) because of the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin. It does get quite steamy at some parts and while I personally had no problem with it having read much worse, I can understand how some people may not want their kids reading it. The book is not recommended for people under the age of 15 and rightfully so unless said persons parents are okay with them reading about sex and violence. That being said there is quite a lot of violence in this book, there’s mutilation, torture, gore, and killing.

I bought a hardcover copy of this book and plan to do the same with the next 2 (as it is a trilogy) because they are so pretty and I defiantly need to have them all in my personal library. I’m now going to start counting down the days until May 3rd even though it seems so far into the distant future. Honestly, A Court of Mist and Fury will probably be the first book I buy in May and I’ll probably end up staying up all night reading it. Whoops.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes faeries, magic, and romance. I totally plan on getting my friends to read it so I can talk to them about it.

Advertisements

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s